Helplines

Something that is extremely close to my heart is the well being of others and making sure that everyone is kept safe.

Please find below a list of useful links that can offer advice and support on a variety of issues:

I will continue to update this as an when I discover a new organisation.

Helpline Directory

hand-1331323_640

 

All Issues:

Get Connected: 0808 808 4994 Open from 1pm – 11pm every day

Bullying:

BullyingUK – 0808 800 2222 (www.bullying.co.uk)

Childline – 0800 1111 (www.childline.org.uk)

Cybersmile – online bullying help and advice (www.cybersmile.org)

Kidscape – preventing bullying and child sexual abuse (www.kidscape.org.uk)

Teacher Support – 08000 562 561 (Wales 08000 855 088)(www.teachersupport.info)

Homelessness:

YMCA West Brom: 0121 524 1965

West Bromwich Housing Service: 0121 569 6000

Shelter: 0808 800 4444  8am-8pm Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm Saturday-Sunday

Mental Health / Depression:

Samaritans: 08457 90 90 90 (2p per min)

NHS Direct: 0845 4647

Alzheimers society: 0300 222 1122

  • 9am – 8pm Monday to Wednesday
    9am – 5pm on Thursday and Friday
    10am – 4pm on Saturday and Sunday

Sane: 0845 767 8000 (daily, 6pm-11pm)

No Panic (Anxiety): 0844 967 4848 (daily, 10am-10pm)

Papyrus – young suicide prevention Hopeline – 0800 068 41 41 (www.papyrus-uk.org)

Campaign Against Living Miserably (CALM) – 0800 58 58 58(www.thecalmzone.net)

 

Sexual Health:

Brook: 0121 553 2926

The Magdalene group (For sex workers0: 0808 800 1037

  • Monday to Sunday, 9.30am-4.30pm
    8pm-10pm Tuesday to Saturday

The Lesbian and Gay Foundation – 0845 330 30 30 (www.lgf.org.uk)

 

Drug and Alcohol Support:

Swanswell: 0845 112 0100

Alcoholics Anonymous: 0800 9177 650

Frank (Drugs): 0800 77 66 00

Narcotics anonymous: 0300 999 1212 (daily until midnight)

Al-Anon – For friends and families of alcoholics – 020 7403 0888 (www.al-anonuk.org.uk)

Smokefree National Helpline – 0300 123 1044 (www.nhs.uk)

 

Physical/Emotional Abuse:

Childline: 0800 1111

Survivors UK (Male victim abuse): 0845 122 1201

The Haven: 08000 194 400

NSPCC:  0800 1111 for Childline for children (24-hour helpline)

0808 800 5000 for adults concerned about a child (24-hour helpline)

Refuge:  0808 2000 247 (24-hour helpline)

Broken Rainbow (homosexual abuse): 0300 999 5428

Female Genital Mutilation FGM: 0800 028 3550

IKWRO (Middle Eastern women and girls): 07846 275 246 (Arabic/ Kurdish)

  • 0207 920 6460 (Farsi/ Dari/ Turkish)  (Mon to Fri 9.30-5.30)
  • 07846 310157 (24 hours out-of-hours emergencies – Farsi/Dari/Turkish)

 

Spiritual Health:

Muslim Youth Helpline: 0808 808 2008

  • Mon – Fri 6pm – 12mn
  • Sat – Sun 12noon – 12mn

Jewish Helpline: 0800 652 9249

 

Eating Disorders:

Beat: 0845 634 1414 (Mon-Thurs, 1.30pm-4.30pm)

Stalking

Stalking Helpline: http://www.stalkinghelpline.org/

Victim Support line: 0808 168 9111  www.victimsupport.org.uk 

Digital Trust: http://www.digital-trust.org/victims-advice/

 

Sexual Assault:

Rape Crisis: 0808 802 9999 (daily, 12pm-2.30pm, 7pm-9.30pm)

Lucy Faithfull Foundation – Preventing child sex abuse – 0808 1000 900(www.lucyfaithfull.org.uk)

 

Grievance Counsellors:

Cruse Bereavement Care:  0844 477 9400 (Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm)

 

Finance/Work:

Job Centre Plus: 0845 6043 719

National Debtline: 0808 808 4000: Monday-Friday, 9am-9pm; Saturday, 9.30am-1pm

Pay and Work Rights Helpline – 0800 917 2368 (www.gov.uk)

UCAS Application Helpline – 0871 468 0468 (www.ucas.com)

UCAS Exam Results Helpline – 0808 100 8000 (www.ucas.com)

 

Family:

Karma Nirvana – Forced marriage support – 0800 5999 247(www.karmanirvana.org.uk)

Missing People Helpline – 116 000 (www.missingpeople.org.uk)

 

Advertisements