World Book Lovers Day: My Top 10

As today is World Book Lovers Day I couldn’t think of anything more appropriate to write about than my top 10 books of all time.

1. The Rules of Attraction – Bret Easton Ellis

The characters and the use of sentence structure in this book has made it the best book i’ve ever read. It started a love affair, not only with Bret Easton Ellis, but the entire genre of contemporary literature. Whilst Ellis’s other novels have gain more success, notably American Psycho and Less Than Zero, The Rules of Attraction is the fiction novel which changed my life.

2. Generation X – Douglas Coupland

The imagery created in this book was a breath of fresh air after I had spent months reading biographies of world leaders. The characters approach to life and the aimlessness they walk around was perfectly executed, even going as far as becoming the inspiration for my blog.

[For more on this read: The Dowsing Rod]

3. IT -Stephen King

The novel is the Peter Pan of adult novels. Whilst Peter Pan felt like it contained a bit of everything for everyone (mermaids, pirates, flying, adventure), IT achieves this with horror. Besides King’s trademark character development that pulls you in, you will at some point see a bit of yourself in this novel as PennyWise’s many forms become your greatest fears. It’s over a thousand pages long and i’ve read it three times.

4. The Time Travelers Wife  – Audrey Niffenegger

A bizarre concept executed as a brilliant novel. I only read this because it was in every charity shop I went into, yet I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I read this over 7 years ago, and passages still come to mind when I’m out and about. It is a very good read and is a book I have been meaning to re-read for years.

5. Liseys Story – Stephen King

Mr King gets another showing. The king of the macabre hit me right in the heart with this novel. The story of a dead authors wife cleaning our her husbands study is a powerful journey into grief. I have read a lot of Stephen King, but this is my favorite of his novels. It is emotive and shows that horror isn’t always monsters under our bed. Sometimes its ourselves.

6. Les Miserables – Victor Hugo

A tragedy of epic proportions. I feel the tale of Jean ValJean is one everybody should read if they wish to understand injustice and redemption.

For more on this see Les Miserables; There are no useless words

7. 20’000 Leagues Under The Sea – Jules Verne

I enjoy this novel simply because of the adventure aspect. I love the ocean as it has witnessed most of world history and Jules Verne captures the world beneath the sea perfectly.

8. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – JK Rowling 

This book wins the award for the book I have read the most times; 13.

This is my favourite out of the entire series because of Sirius Blacks character. He is to Harry Potter what Jean ValJean is to Les Miserables. To me Sirius is the central character in this tale and every time i read it I find myself pitying the character more and more.

9. The Abarat Series – Clive Barker

This fantasy series written by the creator of Hellraiser is one of my top fantasy worlds to get lost in. As a horror fan Clive Barker is not only inspirational as a writer, but as a visionary. His artwork is really an insight into another world, which is captured in The Abarat. This tale of a young girl trapped in a world where there is an island for every hour of the day is one of the most original series I’ve read and I look forward to book 4.

10. Frankenstein –  Mary Shelley

I’ve read most the popular classic horror stories available and this is the one that sticks with me the most. I feel it is a story of people not being made evil, but having evil things happen to them. Frankensteins monster’s soliloquy about the French family he wished to approach was thought provoking.

 

So that’s all folks.

There are hundreds more books I could mention, but these are the ten that come to mind right now.

They could all change in a fortnight so stay tuned!

Follow and Subscribe for more updates!

4 comments

  1. mphadventuregirl · 7 Days Ago

    I love to read. Favorite genres are the classics, mysteries, and fantasies. Each summer and Christmas, I read a classic and this year’s summer classic was Oliver Twist and I enjoyed it a lot. The other classics are Great Expectations, Tale of Two Cities, , Don Quixote, and my personal favorite classic, Les Misérables. I am a massive and obsessive fan of the musical and that love led me to read the book and I finished it in less than one summer.

    I read a lot this summer: I am in the middle of my ninth book this summer. I read Oliver Twist, A Clearing in the Forest, Same Kind of Different As Me, Five Little Pigs, Queen of the Tearling, One Hundred Story Home, 2 Land of Stories books, and now currently in the middle of a book about musical theatre history.

    Like

    • smarshall94 · 7 Days Ago

      Les Miserables is my favourite classic and much like you, I got into it through the musical.

      Don Quixote is on my reading list. Is it any good?

      Never stop reading. Reading is the gateway to a thousand lives

      Like

      • mphadventuregirl · 5 Days Ago

        Don Quixote is a good book, but still a tough read due to it being a tragicomedy and because it was written in the 1600s.

        This summer, I have finished eight books and currently in the middle of my ninth.

        Like

        • smarshall94 · 5 Days Ago

          I want to read Don Quixote because I like Latin American culture/ history. Che Guevara was described as being ‘Quixotic’.

          I try to read 50 pages a day I just finished Cats Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut and now I’ve started Lord of the Flies.

          Like

Leave a Reply

