Hitch Hiker’s Guide to The Galaxy: What happened to Trillian?

Book Finished: Hitch Hiker’s Guide to The Galaxy.

Last week I finished reading all four book in Douglas Adams Hitch Hiker’s Guide to The Galaxy.

I enjoyed books 1,2 &4, whilst finding book 3’s Kriket story line a feeble attempt to hit a publishers deadline.

The books covered a wide range of subjects and I kept finding genuine philosophical and moral questions hidden in the characters bizarre antics.

The concept of existence and parallel universes does leave one looking up at the clouds and wondering about life beyond the stars.

So my ultimate question is this; What was the purpose of Trillian?

I read on eagerly for this secondary character (for to call her primary would be an overstatement) to have a sudden burst of narrative where we would discover more about her.

Sadly this was lacking.

All the characters are fascinating and Marvin was not only funny, but a mirror being held up to ourselves as we share similar exhaustions about life around us.

But that wasn’t the case for Trillian.

We learn she met the main cast at a party and she saves them all at some point. Whilst saving the world may be an heroic feat, without character development this felt more like a cheat.

I wondered at times if she was female tokenism, but rejected this as characters of all kinds exist within the novels, making this idea redundant.

Was she a love interest for Arthur Dent?

Again this was rejected when Arthur meets Fenchurch in the final book.

So what was Trillian?

A week after reading I’m still trying to make up my mind. I long for a sudden discovery of a 5th book in the series based solely around her but I highly doubt this will ever happen.

It truly is an excellent series and I recommend it to anyone who wants a wild ride.

And if you do read it, let me know in the comments section, what was the purpose of Trillian?

Leave a Reply

